Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Manc Meander

Today I was working in Manchester from 9:30 to 4:00, and knew I had evening commitments, so I went early in order to walk at a leisurely place from the railway to the college.  Like all Victorian, industrial cities, Manchester has some beautiful architecture, so long as you are willing to look up.  It is a city that also rewards those who choose narrower side streets, as illustrated by this view snapped in the aptly named Canal Street (part of the area still known as The Gay Village, or sometimes just The Village).  Former mills and warehouses now serve as offices and apartments, and the canal is largely unused.

Always look up, my Dad, taught us, and he was wise.  A lovely meander, getting in my steps for the day and seeing a little more of this vibrant city.   

The comments are closed.