Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Retreat at Home

Today I opted for a quiet day, a 'retreat at home', to prepare myself mentally and spiritually for tomorrows induction service.

I spent the morning reading, reflecting, doodling and making Plasticine roses (I didn't realise it when I started, but roses were to prove a bit of a theme during the day),

In the afternoon I went for a thoughtful walk, and picked up a few odds and ends that I still needed.

One of the things I used to pray, was this by Bonhoeffer, which I happened to spot on social media as I was setting up...

I Cannot Do This Alone

O God, early in the morning I cry to you.

Help me to pray

And to concentrate my thoughts on you;

I cannot do this alone.

In me there is darkness,

But with you there is light;

I am lonely, but you do not leave me;

I am feeble in heart, but with you there is help;

I am restless, but with you there is peace.

In me there is bitterness, but with you there is patience;

I do not understand your ways,

But you know the way for me….

Restore me to liberty,

And enable me to live now

That I may answer before you and before men.

Lord whatever this day may bring,

Your name be praised.

Amen

 

I think it's a good prayer to revisit now and again.

Looking forward to tomorrow - photos and reports to follow!

The comments are closed.