Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Memories...

Yesterday in college chapel, we were invited to reflect on the words of Revelation 21 in conjunction with a piece of writing I first came across when I lived in Leicestershire, and which I shared in worship very early in my time in Glasgow.  It was interesting to see a photo of a place I have walked countless times, and from where I even recorded a reflection on St Mungo.  It was joyful to see people hear it for the first time - and that our one true Scot among the students read it for us.  It bears another sharing...

The New Glasgow

I saw a vision - it was last Thursday at eleven o'clock in the morning:

 

I was standing on the Necropolis, looking down over the city;

and the cold blue winter sky broke open above my head

and the Spirit of God breathed on my eyes

and my eyes were opened.

 

I saw Glasgow, the holy city, coming down out of heaven;

shining like a rare jewel, sparkling like ‘clear water in the eye of the sun’;

and all the sickness was gone from the city,

there were no more suburbs and schemes;

no difference between Bearsden and Drumchapel.

 

I saw the Clyde running with the water of life,

as bright as crystal,

as clear as glass,

            the children of Glasgow swimming in it.

 

And the Spirit showed me the tree of life

growing on Glasgow Green.

 

I looked out and there were no more homeless people,

 no more women working the streets,

no more needles up the closes,

HIV and AIDS were things of the past,

there were no more racist attacks,

no more gay bashing,

no more rapists,

no more stabbings,

no more Protestants and Catholics,

no more IRA graffiti, no more Orange marches,

because there was no more hate!

 

And I saw women walking safe at nights,

saw the men were full of passion and gentleness,

that none of the children were ever abused,

because the people's sex was full of justice and of joy.

 

I saw an old woman throw back her head

and laugh like a young girl;

and when the sky closed back, her laughter rang in my head

for days and days

and would not go away.

 

This is what I saw, looking over the Gallowgate,

Looking up from the city of death;

And I knew then that there would be a day of resurrection,

And I believe

that there will be a day of resurrection.

 Doug Gay

The comments are closed.