Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Commissioning for Mission in the Local Church

On Sunday I am rededicating/commissioning those of my folk who are active in our local mission.  This is not to say that others aren't active in mission where they work, rather that we choose to affirm publically those who 'do mission in our name.'

The dear old Baptist brick is a tad short of suitable liturgy - lots for ministers and BMS type missionaries, not a lot for Mrs Goggins who runs the toddler group or Mr Blogs who does Alpha, or whatever.

So, for anyone daft enough to want to use them as a starter for ten- and not to pick up my errors - here is what I'll be using, derived from something I wrote for children's and youth workers, which was derived from something I wrote for deacons... all of which are listed!

Inhouse Mission Workers liturgy

Children/Youth Workers liturgy (includes child protection)

Deacons liturgy

If anyone has any better liturgies, I`d love to see them - some of this feels a tad old-fashioned and heavy

Comments

  • Thanks for sharing these. I always benefit from your creativity.
    I love the new deacons being referred to as NEDS does this mean they are like donkeys? They go best well laden or they are stubborn???

    The other liturgy refers to 'post-holders'. For us that would mean just about everybody as we have this long crazy list we affrim at each AGM which covers every possible role

    I guess my question is where does it stop? and what happens to those who fall off all these lists., sometimes for good reasons of ill-health or other commitmenst?

  • You are quite right about the dangers of lists and who is on/off. The 'post holders' were in Child Protection if I remember rightly.

    When I arrived there was 'praying over the Sunday School teachers' which evolved into the children's/youth workers last year and shifts to a mission focus this year.

    I'm never quite sure who we should affirm or when - only Newly Elected Deacons (or donkeys), Newly Appointed Leaders, etc. or all who do whatever. Because we also covenant together each January, there is a sense that everyone gets affirmed a bit!

    Good question though.

The comments are closed.