Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Yukky Jobs

Tonight I have to complete two particularly yukky jobs - the annual 'Minister's Report' for the AGM and the monthly 'from the minister' bit for the newsletter.  The good thing is that if they are done I can start to write an essay tomorrow!

The former always strikes we as a minefield - I'm bound to miss someone or something out, and you can be sure that whoever or whatever it is, it will matter.  It has been a tough year for my little church and we're all tired - I am pretty sure that comes through in what I've written, but it needs to be honest, albeit with necessary circumspection on some topics.  In the end, I opted to begin it with some words from an old hymn and end it with some words from a new song.  These two bits I have confidence in, the rest, well, people will have to make of it what they will.

So we begin...

Through many dangers, toils and snares

We have already come;

Tis grace has brought us safe thus far

And grace will lead us home.

 

John Newton

 

And we end

 

Lord of mercy, You have heard my cry;

Through the storm You’re the beacon,

My song in the night.

In the shelter of Your wings,

Hear my heart’s reply,

Singing what a faithful God have I.

 

What a faithful God have I,

What a faithful God.

What a faithful God have I,

Faithful in every way.

 

Robert & Dawn Critchley.  Copyright © 1989 Kingsway’s  Thankyou Music

 

I have yet to write the monthly bit, but I expect it will draw on some similar ideas.  There is a lot that is good in our life together but at the moment the storm clouds do seem to be gathering, so reminders of Gods faithfulness and protection in (not from) the storm are pretty important!

The comments are closed.