Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Philippians 4:13

Familiar words: "I can do all things through [God] who strengthens me"

This morning I headed for to D+2 to set up everything for the funeral, and all was fine.  Indeed all was fine until people started to arrive half an hour before the service and I started to offer hugs to weeping people; then it suddenly all felt difficult and I wondered, would I get through.  Mere professionalism isn't always enough. As the minutes ticked by and service time approached, I paused to think of the many, many people I knew were praying with and for me.  As the hearse drew up I felt calm, in control and assured that all would be well.  And it was.

Yesterday I preached on the call of Moses, and reflected on Moses' denial of his own natural, God-given abilities, and God's anger at Moses' arrogance/self-deprecation (whichever it was).  I commented that God only calls us to things we can do, and that usually our natural abilities connect with that.  Perhaps I was, as are all the finest sermons, preaching to myself?

All I know is that in some way - mystery in its true expression - God took away the anxiety and replaced it with peace, authority and compassion just when it was needed.  And for that I am truly thankful.

The comments are closed.