Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

'O' is for Advent

For various reasons, I am only leading one service during Advent that is not a Christmas service (if that makes sense!) and I want it to be somewhere I can sing song of the wonderful Advent hymns/carols that express the mystery of waiting.  So I will almost undoutbedly be choosing to sing 'There's a light upon the mountains,' 'Earth was waiting,' 'Let all mortal flesh keep silence,' 'Wait for the Lord,' and of course 'O Come, O come, Emmanuel.'   Not everyone likes the wonderfully wistful melancholic tunes to which these are set, but for me they are truly magnificent.

I am considering using the O Antiphons as the basis for the service - possibly with several mini reflections rather than a sermon - but am struggling to find anything much by way of resources (a few RC things that give possible readings, guaranteed to freak your average Baptist who wouldn't know an apocrypha if it bit them).  I am after, I think, images, poems, pieces of music maybe, that capture something of the mystery of waiting which can be justaposed with or linked to these great names of Jesus, for whom we wait.  Anyone got any ideas?!

For those who know the context, this service needs to relate to the good folk of Dibley and D+1!

Comments

  • Just found this which links Isaiah passages to each one
    http://www.catholiceducation.org/articles/religion/re0374.html

  • I did a whole service with these last year. email me if you want a copy of what we did. although i think most of it is on blog under advent

The comments are closed.