Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Taking a Break

This post is really for those kind, loyal readers who drop by regularly to read about life in Dibley, my attempts at research and other random writings.  Regrettably, I feel I need to take a break from blogging - not because I'm bored with it, au contraire, as the saying goes, but because in my crazy world something has to give, and this, whilst fun, is the only thing on my burgeoning to-do list that is not an 'overwhelming A' in terms of priority.

Church life is incredibly busy, with pastoral issues arising daily - we are still getting regular deaths (mostly at one remove, granted) and serious illnesses, and it now takes me seven hours to get round the four people who are in three hospitals from Staffordshire to Leicester (I do them all on one day otherwise it's three days gone).  My five deacons are all dealing with significant 'stuff' and I think there is only one family in the church for whom nothing major is going on - though I hesitate to say that lest something arises!  On top of that, plans are in hand for Christmas outreach - which is looking good, but has already had to be cut down due to lack of bods to do the work.

Research work is going nowhere fast.  On Saturday I'd set aside the morning to do some reading, and managed a chapter introducing Gadamer before the phone rang with the latest pastoral crisis.  The upshot is that if I am to get any reading or thinking done then - and justify spending  ~10% of my net income on university fees - then I can't also spend time typing this stuff.

So, unless I get a sudden urge to post a bit of liturgy, uncover an earth shattering insight in Baptist history/historiography, experience something incredibly funny or tragic, or discover how to squeeze 25 hours into 24 it will be quiet in this corner of blogland for a while.  I will, along with many others, be posting at Hopeful Imagination during Advent, and will still check out (and maybe comment on) other's stuff from time to time.

In the (in)famous words 'I'll be back' but until then take care, Shalom and other suitably holy hugs.

Comments

  • Hi Catriona! Your news makes perfect sense and seems to be the only thing to do in the circumstances, but it's still a shame, and I'll miss your brilliant blogs. I look forward to Hopeful Imagination during Advent.

  • Sounds wise. You'll be missed. Come back when you can.

  • I'm looking forward to the blog on how to cram 25 hours into 24!

    Happy Christmas!

  • We understand- but will miss the Dibley Diaries!

  • Aye, I'll miss you too. I hope you can find time in your busyness for yourself.

  • I am glad you are looking after yourself - we will miss you - be back soon

    Love and prayers to you and if you need anyhting.....

  • Like veryone else I'm glad you are looking for ways to conserve energy. There is an ecology of the heart as well. Look forward to you being back and hope you manage to reconfigure life back to the right balance of giving and receiving. Love and peace to you Catriona, from the land of crannachan and shortbread!

  • Oh. I'll miss you. Hope you're back soon.

  • Where's the break then?

    I think there is a possibility that you are addicted!

  • ever heard of coming up for air, Graham?! Plenty worse addictions anyway.

  • sorry didn't mean to cause any offence. It was supposed to be a tongue in cheek comment.

    Probably too late to say, but I love your blog. Your so honest.

  • Hi again Graham, none taken honestly. My tongue was in my cheek too. Maybe that's what caused the confusion? Glad you like my stuff - it will keep appearing - probably when people stop needing funerals quite so frequently.

The comments are closed.