Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Things I never thought I'd hear...

I was chatting to someone at church the other day about all that is going on at the moment - I seem to average three hospital visits a week and at least one funeral a fortnight.  Add to that the other things that I am involved with (and which provide colour and interest) and time gets very tight sometimes.  In the course of conversation I said something along the lines of  'one of these weeks I'll turn up on a Sunday and say "sorry, no sermon today."'  Her reply amazed and touched me - 'that's alright, we'd find something to do.'

Wow!  What a distance we have travelled together these last five years.

Comments

  • Whereas I'd probably find myself saying, "Sorry, can't visit you this week, I've got a sermon to prepare!"

  • You would?

    Maybe I'm coloured in my views by the experience of my parents during my Dad's final weeks when the minister of the church of which my sister and I were/had been members kept saying 'I'll come and see you [i.e.my Dad], but not this week I've too much to do.' He never came to see my sister nor phoned me.

    I also recall hearing a really poor sermon from a normally superb preacher who'd had one heck of a lot of pastoral stuff to do; people were generally very forgiving because they understood.

    btw if you comment was totally tongue in cheek apologies for the lecture!

  • I wouldn't presume to speak for others, but I think Glen probably beat me to being confessional.

    Over the last year, the growing list of things to do that are never done and the myth/mirage of a clear desk has crowded out real people far too many times as I've juggled roles and responsibilities.

    I hope I've started to change my mindset.

    Whenever anyone says to me, 'I didn't want to bother you, cos I know you're so busy', I know I'm getting something wrong! Especially if it's a member of my family!!

  • What a distance indeed. Something to be proud of. (in a very meek and Christian way of course as befits a humble Baptist minister!)

The comments are closed.