Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

BUGB WIM plus one from BUS

Off to IMC, the BMS training facility, in Birmingham first thing tomorrow to meet with other women Baptist ministers at the annual BUGB WIM day.

First thing means first thing... taxi at 5a.m. to the railway station in order to arrive in time and I get back about 11 p.m.

So why go?

Firstly because it's good to connect with other people who understand my context of ministry... this is not women over against men, it is women being women together.  There's a difference.  It is not some kind of holy coven and we don't all think alike on anything... well except that God has called us of course.

Secondly both BUGB and The Gatherers have very graciously allowed me to.  Maybe this should be number one really.  It is important.  For important theological reasons, even though I could have been a BUGB minister of the dual-denominationality Gathering Place, I was transferred to BUS.  Hence I have no 'right' to go to this BUGB-accredited ministers' event (I'm not on their list anymore) and the Gatherers don't have to let me go.  So I am privileged and grateful.

Lastly maybe I will gain some new insights, seeing from a different place that (BUGB) which was once normal, being a (BUS) minority wthin a (female) minority.  One of the things that so easily happens is that we get self-obsessed and it is good to see a bigger picture.

Anyway, she says modestly, I think it's good for people to see a real live historical person!!

 

PS If I see God in the divine dressing gown first thing tomorrow I'll be sure to let you know.

 

Comments

  • I can't be there, but I hope it will be a good time. Enjoy the travelling especially!!

The comments are closed.