Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Forest Food

Before I went into the forest I was warned that the food would be dreadful (here).  It seems only fair to report that, with one exception, the warning was largely unfounded - although maybe to my virtually salt-free, sugar-free palate things are acceptable that others might not enjoy.

When I ordered my porrige sans salt, sans sugar and sans milk I got some strange looks.  Moslty it came flooded with milk but it tasted fine.

The daily offerings of soup were excellent - tomato and basil, carrot and corriander, mushroom, Scotch broth... all 'home made' and very tasty.

I mostly opted for the veggie choice after a singularly foul shepherd's pie but also had some very acceptable fish and a decent chicken pie.  They even served some very acceptable rice pudding and a rhubarb crumble though otherwise the desserts were largely restricted to jelly or ice cream.

As a result most of my emergency supplies came home with me, to be topped up with further biscuits and chocolates from visitors.  No danger of going hungry!

It is suitably surreal that the food served in a Glasgow hospital was made in Wales and transported hundreds of miles to be heated up.  However, the hot food was always piping hot and the cold food properly cold.  I have a suspicion that being a fake veggie much of the time meant I got a better deal than had I opted for some of the meat dishes... the shepherd's pie tasted as if it was made with liver!

The comments are closed.