Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Advertising, All Age Worship, Pauline Theology and John Wesley!

The title is probably the best bit of this post... three days into my drug experiment (read that as you will!) I have had three nights of very poor sleep and my brain is maybe not as functional as I'd like.  Anyway, today I've found a few recent (and not so recent) TV adverts going through my mind and making connections with things I've been thinking about.

The first is the current Persil 'mini miracles' series - well actually they seem to have found two ideas - which makes me smile as it echoes two of my 'stories Jesus told' all age service threads... a 30 minute herb garden (reckon I can do it in 5-10) and 30 minute bread (BUGB had this recipe almost two decades ago!) each of which I will be incorporating into upcoming services.  Gatherer's beware!

The second arises from being sent a 'sneak preview' of cancer research UK's new advert by email, reading an inpsiring blog and recalling the blood donor campaign that was aired over Christmas/new year 2010/2011.  Alice's bucket list is a gracious and mature blog being written by a 15 year-old with terminal cancer.  It reflects the confidence and uncomplication of youth, as well as courage, determination and acceptance that not everything she wants is achievable.  The second item on her list is 'to make everyone sign up to be a bone marrow donor.'  This one reminded me of the blood transfusion service advertisement - whether actors or 'real' people, I don't know (cancer research makes a point of not using actors) - in which the person told the viewer 'it is you I'm talking to'; you who should give blood now.  I'd love to play my part in fulfilling Alice's wish to get everyone to sign up - but I can't, I'm ineligible.  I'd love to respond to the blood donor advert, indeed I used to be a blood donor, but I am no longer permitted to do so.  I am currently on the organ donor register, have been for years, but now not even my corneas are safe to transplant 'just in case'.  All of which leads me to a bit of Pauline theology, 'the good I want to do I find I cannot do.'  I know he wasn't talking about this kind of thing, but it did get me thinking - there is going to be good, of all sorts, that we'd love to do but cannot for one reason or another.  I have a suspicion John Wesley had it about right when he said:

Do all the good you can. By all the means you can. In all the ways you can. In all the places you can. At all the times you can. To all the people you can. As long as ever you can.

Best, I reckon not to lose sleep over the things we cannot change (I did afterall give a good body's worth of blood in my time!) and concentrate on the things where we can make a difference... which is why later on I will be heading off to buy compost and plants for Sunday!

Comments

  • Yes, one of the hard things about having had cancer is not being able to give blood or be an organ donor any more. Two things I've always thought very important are now something I can't do. Sad....

The comments are closed.