Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

What the...............

This link from todays BUGB e news-sweep got me in a spin!  I have no idea what Mr Robertson's views are more widely, but OK to divorce some because they Alzheimers and are already 'sort of dead'?  HOW DARE HE, how very dare he?

Two lines of thought...

Firstly, grounds for divorce would seem, to me, to include abuse, violence, neglect, cruelty and infidelity (not just sexual inifdelity at that) but never illness or disability.  Yes, it is hard, even soul-destroying to care for someone in this situation but they are not dead, they are people.  Grr, verrily grr.

Secondly I recall one of the most beautiful sights I ever saw was in a cafe in Dibley.  An elderly man wheeled his wife, who clearly had some form of dementia, in to the cafe, bought her a cup of coffee and patiently lifted it to her lips for her.  Some she drank, some she spilled.  Gently, he wiped away the spills, and held her hand.  With tears glinting in my eyes I spoke to him, saying how lovely it was to see them and how much he clearly loved her.  He smiled, then said softly, I promised on my wedding day...

I rest my case.

The comments are closed.