Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Circling Prayer

Last night at the serivce we led at a rural church, we sang a setting of St Patrick's circling prayer by someone called Andy Moss.  It is in Church Hymnary 4 and the tune is called 'Circle me Lord'...

Jesus before me, Jesus beside me,

Jesus behind me, Jesus surround me.

Circle me Lord, circle me Lord

All of my days, circle me Lord

Jesus above me, Jesus below me,

Jesus within me, Jesus enfold me

Circle me Lord, circle me Lord

All of my days, circle me Lord

Jesus for our time, Jesus for all time

Jesus eternal, Jesus immortal

Circle me Lord, circle me Lord

All of my days, circle me Lord

 

The tune is gentle and haunting, and the four part harmony was lovely. 

Many readers of this blog are having a tough time just now - cyber (and ordinary) bullying, red tape, health concerns, employment worries, financial struggles to name just a few.  Many, but by no means all, readers have a lived and living faith.  Whoever you are, however life is for you, this prayer is for YOU.  If, for whatever reason, the name of Jesus doesn't work for you, how about substituting 'love' and /or 'light'?  Whoever you are, however *expletive deleted* life is just now, then my prayer is that love and light (origin of both in God) may surround you today, and every day.

Take care. (((cyber hug)))

The comments are closed.