Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Count Your Blessings: Day 14

How's your Lent going?  Is it preparing you at all for Easter or is it just passing by?  Today we a third of the way there - already.

Adults

Almost 1 billion people don’t have enough to eat and go to bed hungry every night, even though the planet produces enough food to feed everyone.

Give £1 if you threw food away last week.

Children

In Guatemala, a country in Central America, half of all children under 5 are malnourished. This means they haven’t always had enough to eat, or the right foods to keep them healthy. This doesn’t just mean that they feel hungry, but also that their bodies won’t grow as well, or as healthily as they should. This might affect them for the rest of their lives.

Give 10p for every different vegetable you’ve eaten today.

 

I hate wasting food, but I do.  Often I buy more than I need, simply because things come prepacked in sizes that are, realistically, too large for one person. The truth is that almost every week I throw away food.  £1 seems quite a low price to pay, given the average per UK household in the UK is nearer £13 a week (here).  Hmm.  If the average UK household is about four people, then £3 feels more realistic by way of a 'fine' so I think I'll go with that.

 

My Pledge

Today - £3

Total - £17.25, three prayers and a little strop!

The comments are closed.