Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Trying to Go Slow(er)

So, as if I didn't already know it, I am rubbish at 'slow'... the last week of doing next to nothing was good but oddly demanding and I found myself chaffing at the bit to get 'doing' again.  Part of my trouble is that I am 'quick'... people have told me all my life that I do twice as much in half the time as anyone else (I think that means four times as fast or four times as much or both) and that for me is just 'normal'.  I'd like to think, though, that more often than not, 'quick' does not directly equate to 'thoughtless' or 'hasty' (even though my typing is bad and I never did properly learn to read over my work before submitting it).

The dangers of 'fast' coupled with 'thoughtless' are something that I see all too often since I succombed to the use of Facebook about a year ago.  Often drawing on posts from Twitter, things spread like wildfire, being 'retweeted' and 'shared' unchecked, unverified and, all to often, untrue.  I get bored with checking the veracity of things I am invited to 'like' or 'share' and tired of typing "erm, I think it's a hoax" into comment boxes.  There is fast and there is too fast; there is quick and there is careless.  I fail to comprehend the motivation of the hoaxers, but they have the ability to cause ludicrous amounts of harm.

I think my internal dilemma arises from the fact that as well as having high speed, workaholic tendencies, I also over-reflect, turning things over and over in my mind... so to slow down is to give more space for this mulling and ruminating, potentially more than is necessarily helpful.  It's not that I feel a need to cram every waking moment with activity (or 'productive' activity) - I can happily sit and ignore housework for weeks on end; it's not that I am too busy to 'smell the roses' - I can spend time happily gazing at the moon or wandering in a park; it's just that I am not good at slow.

So, although this week has a lot more planned activity, I am going to try to keep it on a slower pace, to make more time 'be'.   I'm not sure what that will look like, not yet how it will feel, but I'm going to try...

Comments

  • Wishing you luck with that. It's hard to change the way we have always been. ;-)

The comments are closed.