Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

History Lessons

Yesterday and today I have been doing background work for Sunday's harvest thanksgiving, which is supporting both Operation Agri and Glasgow City Mission (GCM).  As part of my research I looked at the BMS website to find out the history of their mission links to Sri Lanka (going back over 200 years) and both GCM and LCM (1826 and 1835 respectively.  Perversely I learned more about GCM's pioneering work from LCM's website than from it's own, go figure; you can read about Naismith, Scot and founder of LCM here).

I really enjoyed what I read, sketchy as it was, and was reminded of the import of reading history which not only informs our present but has potential shape our future.

Good fun.  Why not go and read some church, denominational or mission history yourselves?

The comments are closed.