Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

WWJD?

Or more to the point, what would Jesus say:

To my friend just diagnosed with brain mets...

To the friend who has spent the week fighting (no other word for it) to get her father a hospice bed...

To the person with the end stage condition that advances slowly and cruelly...

To the person waiting for a place in a care home...

To the person with 'POM' disease unable to see positives...

 

To the people who spent two days searching for a missing child, now believed to have died...

To the family of said child, now being questioned...

To the people who are shocked or angered by this news...

 

To the people I hear about on the news...

 

To me, delighting in my own disease free status, wrestling with words to say in diverse situation to people with a range of worldviews...

 

What would Jesus say?

Maybe:

‘Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.’

‘Do not judge, so that you may not be judged. For with the judgement you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get. Why do you see the speck in your neighbour’s eye, but do not notice the log in your own eye? Or how can you say to your neighbour, “Let me take the speck out of your eye”, while the log is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your neighbour’s eye.'

'And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.’

 

We teach our children that 'Christ has no hands but our hands', likewise he has no mouth but our mouths...

May the words of my my mouth and the thoughts of my mind be as of Christ, inspired by love, characterised by grace, suffused in hope. Amen.

The comments are closed.