Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

O Happy Day!

This morning as I was getting ready to face the day, the song 'Perfect Day' emerged from my radio... a song I like and once, a very long time ago, used as the basis for a sermon (can't recall what I said even if I remember where and what the weather was like!!).  I don't think today has been perfect, but it has been very good, and, for me, happy.

The morning service went well.  I'd had lots and lots of fun preparing the sermon around John's account of the call of the first disciples (Andrew, No-name, Philip and Nathanel) and it seemed to go down pretty well.  It struck me, though I didn't actually include this in the sermon, that the paraclete idea seems to run through the gospel, not only as the Holy Spirit but in the presence of intermediaries who introduce people to Jesus.  We had some gorgeous music and a very silly children's song - what more could you wish for?!

A lovely lunch with some church folk and introduction to their new dog (who is so cute!).  Fruit crumble - what's not to like?!

Evening worship was led by the priest from the Roman Catholic chaplaincy who arrived along with loads of his congregation to swell our usual evening congregation of Church of Scotland and Baptist stalwarts as we began the Week of Prayer for Christain Unity.  It was a lovely evening characterised by a real desire of all three traditions to engage with each other.  By the time they last people left there was a real buzz and a desire to do it again, and soon.  Yes please!

Next Sunday morning I will be preaching at a not quite Brethren Assembly... very not quite given the number of women involved in worhsip leading, but that's their background... as a 'pulpit swap' for the end of WPCU.  This too excites me as I have missed this since moving here.

I kind of have a sense that the angels are quite cheery tonight!

The comments are closed.