Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

How would you reply?

Mark 10: 51:  Then Jesus said to him, "What do you want me to do for you?

All eyes turned to the blind man, Bartimaeus, time stood still, he pondered his reply and then he spoke...

"I want to see"

 

But what other answers might haved passed through his mind..?

"I want to be rich so I never need to beg again"

"I want to know why my life has been so hard"

"I want you to blind all the people who have ridiculed me (or otherwise smite them)"

"I want to be like everyone else"

"I want to be respected"

"I want to be liked"

"I want to see... "

 

So what would you reply if Jesus asked you the same question "what do you want me to do for you?"

This was the challenge of today's sermon... to myself as much as, if not more than, to anyone else

What is it I want Jesus to do for me...

 

This is no genie from a lamp offering three boons to a temporary slave, but the Lord of Life whose gaze searches our deepest recesses and then asks us one question

So what or how do we reply...?

Comments

  • A challenging question I really need to think about.

The comments are closed.