Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Re-use, Recycle...

Way back in the 1970s we used to take turns in going to town to assist with the family shop... that could mean dragging the shopping trolley, or it could mean carrying paper or plastic carriers purchased from the shop at 5p a go.  Given that a pint of milk cost 5p, the carrier bags were not exactly cheap.

Then it all got stupidly competitive and the price of carrier bags fell lower and lower, until it was abolished and you simply grab as many bags as you wished at the check-out. 

We realised that wasn't quite so green after all, and so the quantity of recycle plastic or paper used to make them increased.  Thin, poor quality plastic bags abounded and then, over time they did improve again.

In the 1990s 'smart box' shopping was the new big thing.  I still have my five smart boxes, complete with lids purchased for an extra £1 or so!  Safeway (remember them?) Sainsbury's and Tesco all invested in this greener, quicker approach where you could put stuff straight into a tough plastic box, plonk it in your car and save time (especially in those stores with self-scan options).  You needed special trolleys to use the boxes and it never really caught on.

Next was bags for life - pay 10p for a strong plastic carrier bag and we'll give you a new one when it wears out.  I did actually wear out a few, but as often as not I ended up buying new ones because I felt bad using a not-so-green free bag if I didn't have enough reusable bags with me!  One of my smart boxes is full of bags for life!!

Then it was the hessian bags, the jute bags, the specially deisgned bottle bags, the cooler bags, the foldable put it in your handbag bags... I have them all (and others!) in my kitchen!

So now we've gone full circle.  From today in Scotland (already done in Wales and Northern Ireland, and to follow soon in England) you have to pay 5p if you want a supermarket bag - strong, re-usable 1970s style bags are back!

As for me, I almost always have a cotton bag squished up in my pocket, and have used my own bags at supermarkets since the demise of smart box trolleys.  I've also just ordered myself a pull-along shopping trolley for bigger shopping trips... plus ca change, plus le meme chose!

Comments

  • We're three years ahead of you in Wales on bag charging and it really works. :)

The comments are closed.