Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Burst Balloons and the Soufle of God...

This morning's Pentecost service seemed to be well received, and I certainly had some fun.

The All Together bit involved balloons and bubbles - without air all you have is a bag made of rubber or a pot of soapy water.  And you have to get the blowing just right.  I accidentally burst the first balloon I blew up - amazingly no small people burst into tears and everyone laughed.  And the bubble mix was tempremental, taking a few goes to produce half decent bubbles.  But it did give an unplanned illustration that the Holy Spirit as 'breath' of God is more than just pumping in air, it has to be the right amount at the right pressure.  It reminded me of a ditty once in SU material that said:



If we are all mind we dry up

If we are all spirit we blow up

If we are mind and spirit we grow up

 

The readings in German, French, Yoruba and Welsh were lovely, and it was possible to pick out words that made it possible to follow what was being said.  One person commented on the French reading and the word 'soufle' for breath, which is so close to souffle (or maybe is just a variant, I'm not sure) and the image of a souffle as the 'breath' filled expression of, well on omelette I suppose!

It was a good morning, lots of amazing music in many styles.  I had fun and I hope other people found something helpful along the way.

The comments are closed.