Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Not the Trinity

After preaching on the Trinity annually for at least a decade, I needed a change!  The thought of yet another Trinity sermon filled me with dread, so it really wasn't a goer (just how many ways can one explain the unexplainable and avoid the worst heresies at the same time?).

Instead I opted for two pairs of metaphors found in the Old Testament and briefly reflected on each.

So we began with the inanimate "rock and refuge" and the concept of God as a passive presence, offering shelter and security provided we choose to come inside.

Then we looked at God as "midwife and mother" with the mind-blowing idea that we are conceived in/by God who also brings us to birth kepeing us safe.

Lastly we noted some similarities - of safety, protection, security, ever-presence - which led to Jesus' image of the hen with her chicks - or the picture I'd found of the swan with her cygnets.

It seemed to go OK, and I had some encouraging feedback.  This evening I will listen to someone else tackle Trinity :)

The comments are closed.