Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Not my arm...

It transpires that some folk on hearing I am due to have surgery assumed that this was to 'fix' the arm in which I have lymphoedema.  I hope those folk, on learning the truth are not too horrified!!  It just goes to show that when you try to keep something pretty personal private it can have unexpected consequences!

Lymphoedema is a chronic, incurable condition, but it can be controlled, in my case very effectively, by the use of compression garments, exercise and skin care.

There are two kinds of lymphoedema - primary, which is present from birth, and secondary, which is triggered by 'trauma' usually (and in my case) the removal of lymph nodes are part of cancer treatment.

Basically, this condition results in lymph fluid flowing down into arms (or legs, trunk or breast) but being unable to get out again because pumping action needed to do so is impaired.  Special exercises and massage, and (very expensive) special compression garments can reduce the resultant swelling but can never actually effect cure.

Lymph fluid seems to agglomerate in fat, and so people with lymphoedema are strongly encouraged to maintain a healthy weight... less fat, less places for it to gather.  Some people who have especially bad lymphodema are involved in some clinical trials involving lyposuction of the affected areas to see if this has any long term benefit.   My lymphodema is defined as 'mild', mostly affects my right hand and wrist area, and was triggered by 'injury' (shifting a ludicrously heavy suitcase that some other passenger had put where it blocked the exit door of a train).  To me, it is just a nuisance, and the compression sleeves a necessary "evil" (though evil is too strong a word).

So, my arm can't be fixed but the lymphoedema can be kept under control - just so long as I do as I'm told, every day, for life.

Hope that clears up some confusion!

The comments are closed.