Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Well Worth Reading

Sasha has seemingly decided that she would like to read the book that kept me occupied for a good couple of hours!

They are right, all the people who told me this book. "The Return of the Prodigal Son" by Henri Nouwen is a 'must read'.  As with so many things, there was no sense that I wished I'd read it years ago, rather there was more a sense that, for me, now is a good time to read it for the first time.

Given the number of sermons I've heard that have arisen from people reading this book, or which have been at least informed by it, I was somewhat surprised how hugely autobiographical it is.  Nouwen is incredibly open about his own inner world, an inner world that certainly resonates with me, and I am sure with many others.  Hugely honest and vulnerable, it is the story of 'living with' a painting for a number of years and of a 'journey' prompted by comments made by others.

What also struck me is that the assorted sermons I've heard have always focused on the sons - not one has ever explored our own becoming of father/mother, with which Nouwen's exploration ends.  I am curious as to why this is, and what it says about the concept and our willingness to engage with it.  For me, it was as helpful as the explorations of self as both younger and elder son, integrating the two in a coherent whole.

So, an easy book to read - no big words or theological jargon - with some deep ideas to ponder.  And it comes with a free postcard of the painting too!

The comments are closed.