Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Seven years a NED (so far)

Yesterday was my annual trip across the road to see my breast surgeon.  All is well, and I am officially a NED for another year.  So that makes seven.

A lot has happened since Feb 2011 when I underwent major, life-saving and body-altering surgery.  In some ways it feels a life-time ago, in others no time at all.

It's slightly weird reflecting on all that has taken place in those seven years and counting the oodles of blessings I never expected to experience.  A baby I blessed just days after my diagnosis is now a seven year old boy... This weekend we had a blessing service for a young boy, and there have been a faire few (boys and girls) in between.  There have been three Baptisms (including one in the sea!) and we are excitedly planning for another five.  I have shared with couples getting married in a cow shed, a library, a hospital ward, a castle and various churches... with one to look forward to this autumn, and another next year!  There have also been farewells, funerals mostly for revered older folk including a minister, a missionary as well as one lady well over 100 years old, though some for women younger than myself affected by cancer or other life-limiting conditions.  Granted, some folk have moved on from our church, mostly because they moved away, but some for other reasons... but we have also welcomed all sorts of new and interesting people, several covenanting with us along the way.

It's been a good seven years.  Yes, of course there have been disappointments.  Yes, I've had to get a couple of sets of symptoms checked out because of "your history".  Yes, there has been more (non-cancer) surgery, and more drugs. For all that, life is good, a precious gift which I choose to celebrate every single day.

Today another something like 120-150 more people will join this 'club no-one wants to join' and thousands more will join other similar 'clubs no-one wants to join' whether that is cancer or any other life-threatening, life-limiting or life-changing disease or condition.  So forgive me if I end with my customary nag/rant: check you wobbly bits and dangly bits, do the screeening, report any unexpected weight loss, persistent cough or other vague symptoms to your GP... it could save your life, just as it did mine.

The comments are closed.