Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Last Baptismal Preparation Meeting

I've just printed off the handouts for the fourth and final meeting of our 'Baptism Preparation Group'.  I am looking forward to exploring with them some thoughts around the temptations and the transfiguation of Jesus, and how these stories speak to our own lives.

It has been a truly wonderful few weeks - people who come to the scriptures without the 'baggage' of western thought or preconcieved notions of what it means. Some people for whom the supernatural is very real, others for whom it remains a new concept.

The month has flown by, and it's hard to believe that next weekend is 'it' - a wonderful service that we have planned together, with partipcation by people from every continent and many nations, in a church with which we have a very special connection, because they planted us 135 years ago!

I find myself in the strange place of feeling both that I will miss these gatherings and that it will be nice to get my Saturdays back! (How selfish is that?!)  One of the things I want to do this afternoon is to look at the 'what next' for this group... I really want to go one exploring scripture with them, because their freshness is so energising, and their questions so interesting.

My sense is to take a break now until Easter - the remainder of Lent is pretty busy one way and another.  But after Easter it would be good to draw in a few more folk to share in this journey of discovery - hopefully midweek and in an evening!

Meanwhile, I look forward to a great afternoon.

The comments are closed.