Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

At Home in Lent - Day 33

It's Passion Sunday, and our guide takes a more overtly spiritual theme with today's object - a Bible.

Like the Vicar of Dibley, I have a Bible shelf.  Well, actually I have more than one!

There is the bookcase containing 50 pew Bibles that I am keeping until we return to our shiny new church.

There is the shelf in my office containing more than 20 versions of Bible and/or one of the Testaments.

There is also half a shelf of Bible story books and a collection of ladybird books of Bible stories.

There are Bibles on my desk, by my bed, on my computers and even on my smart phone!

They are part of the 'wallpaper', part of my everyday life, something I give little thought to, unless I want to check something or prepare for a specific service.

The author notes the importance and influence of the Bible, and also that it needs to be read to come alive or have meaning. Using the story of the Ethiopian Eunuch, he notes also that we can (do) need assistance making sense of what we read - it isn't really a solo enterprise.

Over the next couple of weeks I will drawing on story books and Bibles to help generate services that are meaningful and helpful, not just for myself, but in community with others.

 

God whose WORD became flesh, and whose story is told in the Word recorded by faithful men (and women?), help those of us entrusted to preach and to teach to use our words wisely to your glory of your name. Amen.

The comments are closed.