Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Remembering

This beautiful image of a rose (Lady of Shalott) landed in my inbox yesterday.  It was taken by one of my brothers and is the first bloom on the rosebush he bought to remember my Mum who died a year ago today (albeit in the evening - this is posted in the morning).

Both of my parents loved roses.  If memory serves, they met in the rose garden of Kensington Gardens (Hyde Park) London in 1961.  When we were children there were always roses in the garden... 'Golden Showers', 'Blue Moon', 'Uncle Walter', 'Peace' are among the names that come to mind.

I also love roses, even if they aren't my absolute favourite flowers, and this beautiful bloom evokes many precious memories.  Good call, CIBG, I hope you enjoy your rose bush and the memories it holds for you.

Comments

  • What a beautiful rose and lovely way to remember your mother on the 1st anniversary of her death.

The comments are closed.