Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

As Good as a Rest...

So that's my week off done!

It's pretty much inevitable that I only read a fraction of the stuff I had set aside for this week - but I have read a little of everything, and will keep plodding along with all of it.  If nothing else, pressing 'pause' allows for a little bit of resetting, and it will be good to be more intentional about reading 'proper' stuff again in the weeks/months ahead.

This week I have metaphorically visited Greater Manchester (before the latest Lockdown, so no virtual self-isolation needed!!), Portsmouth, Buckinghamshire and central London.  I have worshiped with Zoom congregations using the technology differently from our own practice, and each time shared in Communion, a symbol of togetherness in apartness.

I have taken some longer walks around Glasgow - one day was 'Canal, Kelvin and Clyde', another was 'All Four Cathedrals in One Walk' - as well as some shorter strolls.

I have done a small about work in my summer 2020 prayer embroidery - 'And God Smiled' - hindered by the kitties!

I have got up late and gone to bed early, made soup, baked cake and ended my week by ordering a 'Cornish hamper' of scones and clotted cream to form the centre-piece of an afternoon tea I to served myself on Friday.  Best china, best linen... best way to finish the week!

It has been a good week, and pretty restful, allowing me to set aside thoughts of church, at least most of the time.  It would have been nice to travel literally to see some of my friends in England - but as well I didn't as things have turned out.

Back to work tomorrow (yes, I know it's Monday but sometimes these things have to be done) but before then, there are still scones waiting to eaten...

Oh, and if you are the praying type, please remember those of my friends who are in Greater Manchester, East Lancashire, West Yorkshire and Leicester... they have all done what was asked of them, and now they are being locked down again.

The comments are closed.