Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A psalm for women of a certain age...

I came across this in a book of liturgies and prayers.  I found it helpful.  Others may too.

 

O Divine One,

Source of the feminine live-force,

I thank you this day

For your life-energy within my body,

For the order of its rhythms and cycles.

 

Even though I no longer have

My blood time to mark my cycles,

Teach me to listen with my inner ear

To the other cycles and patterns

Of my body.

 

As I listen with attentiveness and respect,

May I daily grow in understanding

Of how to care for my body

With gentleness and love.

 

May I always remember

That my femininity

Is an integral part of me,

Regardless of whether I am fertile or not.

 

And, as I listen with greater reverence

To that rhythm of your gifts within me,

May I allow the special gifts

Of this stage of my life to emerge

Creating space for the wise woman within me

To find fuller expression in my life.

 

Abigail Rian Evans, Healing Liturgies for the Seasons of Life, Westminster John Knox, 2004, page 88

The comments are closed.