Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Advent - Day 17

Oo-er- missus! Today we learn about naughty nuns who lived 'fleshy' lives luring men to their cells.  Who'd have thought it.  Made me chuckle as tomorrow I'm preaching on Rahab and Ruth, so there's a connection of sorts to be found there.

More seriously, the thought for today is about the transformative effect of the indwelling of Christ, that means we are not driven by fleshy desires (which doesn't mean sexual desire is bad or wrong, rather it's about enjoying a gift of God appropriately).

Whether it's sex, exercise, work, food, drink, power, status, acceptance or anything else we can think of, normal human desires have the potential to become unhealthy drivers/motivators.  We all know that.  But maybe the tale of some naughty nuns gives us just enough pause to think about our own potential stumbling blocks.

The prayer from the book:

Holy God, make me holy.  May my flesh-lift melt away.  May Christ in me lead me into righteous  living.  Amen.

The comments are closed.