Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pausing and Being Still...

This weekend, I took down the assorted 'good bye', 'thank you', 'new job', and 'new home' cards (apart from one which arrived yesterday)! that have adorned my living room for the past weeks since I moved (the last days I was in Glasgow, they were carefully packed so as not to be lost en route south).  I will, over the coming days/months, take time to re-read all the lovely messages.

This morning, before leaving for church, I took out the books of messages created by the Gatherers and their Guests at my last service, and mindfully re-read all the kind words people had written.  Recurring themes were 'kind', 'creative', 'thoughtful' and 'hard working' (!) ... to be remembered for these attributes feels very affirming and very encouraging.

The Railway Town Church Secretary is already noticing at least the last of these and telling me to 'be careful' not to overdo it, and my boss at the college told me to take a day off in lieu of last weekend's residential (I did as I was told).  This afternoon after I had caught up all the ironing that dates back to before my move, I had a snooze on the settee (sign of getting older?) and plan some time with a novel between now and bedtime.

The comments are closed.